#1 Book Beginnings & Friday 56

I have found something to replace the old First Page Fridays since that has been discontinued, but I found something that’s basically and dare I say, just a tad bit better.

 So please join me in Freda’s Voice Friday 56friday-56

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
*Post it.

bb-buttonAnd Rose City Readers Book Beginnings
Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.


Without further ado…

Hannah Rhodes has just gotten out of a long-term relationship, and she isn’t looking for a new man in her life. But afterchasing-rhodes a night out with the girls and one too many tequila shots, her plans to stay man free are blown all to hell. She finds herself in bed with the smoldering stranger from a party six months back and immediately knows she’s in trouble, big trouble. And the last thing Hannah needs is more trouble.

Her last relationship took her out like an emotional freight train, and she’s trying to piece back the stability her life once had.

Greyson Holt’s biggest fear in life is to end up like his father, like the man who left him as a child, and broke his mother’s heart. He vowed to never be responsible for that kind of carnage. Men could be cruel and that kind of brutality was in his blood. He never allows himself to get too close to anyone, until he meets Hannah.

Something about her makes him want to try, but a man can’t change overnight.

Will Holt be able to catch Rhodes every time he lets her go? Or will their chase end in heartbreak?

First Sentence : “SHIT.” SHIT. SHIT. Shit. “He’s having another stupid party,” I murmur under my breath as I pull into the driveway. 

Thoughts :  I like to give my readers a little background by posting the synopsis, taken from Goodreads since I am lazy and can’t be bothered to search for the synopsis myself to better understand the post if I don’t have the time to do so.

That being said, my first impression, obviously after having read the synopsis, this is the previous relationship where shit hits the fan (pun intended) before we’re introduced to the new love interest. As far as first lines go, it’s not bad but not something I would say that would draw me in without a little back story, clearly.

Kobo 56% : “I already told you nothing was happening. We were just talking. We were even talking about you for crying out loud.” I’m not yelling or shouting  now. I’m just talking. I don’t have any more energy left for fighting. 

Who was Hannah “talking” to and about which lucky boy/man?

What do you guys think? And based off of this would you read Chasing Rhodes or would you pass it by?

Find out my thoughts next Thursday when I post my review! 

3 thoughts on “#1 Book Beginnings & Friday 56

What are you thinking?

