November 1st

It’s that time of year again….NaNowriMo – for those of you who don’t know, NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. The month of the November is an important month for all us would be authors, fancy-ourselves authors, and authors. The month of November is dedicated to writing a little each day until you have a full novel. The catch? You have to start writing on November 1. Sure you can brainstorm before and even come up with a title but as to putting pen to paper or fingers to keys, it’s all done in real-time starting today, November 1 and ending November 30.

Every year I mean to participate, I’ve done it once and haven’t been able to finish or even make a dent in my number count. It doesn’t help that life gets in the way; work, friends, colleagues and responsibilities pulling you in different directions all the while you’re trying to make time to sit down an hour or two everyday and write your heart out. Or, if you’re like me, you realize that maybe you weren’t meant to be a writer after all, maybe you were meant to be exactly what you are and that is a reader.

There’s nothing wrong with being a reader, that’s what I am, but wouldn’t it be nice to test the bounds of your abilities? Write something that may never get published and may not even be good but knowing all the while that you accomplished something meaningful to you in the amount of time you were given?

I know I would love to and I guess that’s why I’m going to try NaNoWriMo this year. It may not be any good (I doubt it will be good) but I will endeavor to write my story here on my blog a little at a time until the end of November. It will be my personal challenge, so NaNoWriMo here I come.

What are you thinking?

