Movie Trailer Monday – Vampire Academy

Movie Trailer Mondays

 

 

 

 

First Impression:

I read these books before they were re-distributed with the movie cover. When I found out they were making a movie, I wasn’t really excited, I mean the books have been out for while, what took them so long? I remember semi-liking the books because they had different take on vampires and all that stuff. But if you really think about it, reading about the different classes of vampires (Moroi and Strigoi) are totally different from watching it being explained. It’s just not the same.

This trailer looked really good when I saw it, but then the movie came out…

Thoughts on the Movie: 

I’ve read some reviews on this movie and not all were good. From IMDB to Rotten Tomatoes and Flixster all ratings were less 80% by the audience. Some might want to blame the less than favorable ratings and reviews on the fact that it was a low-budgeted film, but that’s just an excuse. I thought, hey! Why not watch the movie for myself, see what it’s all about. Bad idea! It was embarrassing! I was embarrassed for the actors (side note: Dimitri is not as good-looking in RL as the book suggests). The explanation of Moroi and Stirgoi was terrible, I normally am ambivalent towards Zoey Deutch but her voice was annoying. That is not how I pictured Rose sounding, also the fighting scenes was in slow-motion or something, it was not fluid at all and the feeding? Why was it so weird? There were jokes that were meant to be funny but it was like they were trying too hard. It was weird.

Overall, not my cup of tea. This movie actually succeeded in ruining the book (that I already read) for me, because it made the book seem stupid and it wasn’t, well not at the time I read it.

Rating: Why are we still making Vampire Movies based off of Books? 

What are you thinking?

