REVIEW: If I Stay and Where She Went

If I Stay In a single moment, everything changes. Seventeen-year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall riding along the snow-wet Oregon road with her family. Then, in a blink, she finds herself watching as her own damaged body is taken from the wreck…

A sophisticated, layered, and heart-achingly beautiful story about the power of family and friends, the choices we all make, and the ultimate choice Mia commands

Published: April 2nd 2009 by Dutton Juvenile

Last Line: “It’s the first time today I can truly hear him. “Mia?” he asks.

Where she wentIt’s been three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life.

And three years he’s spent wondering why.

When their paths cross again in New York City, Adam and Mia are brought back together for one life-changing night.

Adam finally has the opportunity to ask Mia the questions that have been haunting him. But will a few hours in this magical city be enough to lay their past to rest, for good – or can you really have a second chance at first love?

Published: April 5th 2011 by Dutton Juvenile

Last Line: “This is our new vow.”

Author: Gayle Forman

Series: If I Stay

Source: Goodreads 

Thoughts:  I must say these books were nothing like I expected. When I read the synopsis I was not eager to start reading. It seemed too much heartache to endure.  But I got over my fear of heartache, sadness and loss and read the damn books. It was beautiful. I was drawn in right away and then stuck in the books reality. It took me a day to read them both.

I love love loved the writing style. The POVs were well done. First Mia’s in the first book then Adam’s in the second, not to mention where the whole thing took place, with snippets and flashbacks so it seems as if you’ve read a whole series and are intimately familiar with  the characters before tragedy hits. The second book was the same, flashback explanations so you get the full picture.

My only complaint: I wish they were longer. I seriously could have done with more, more explanation, more emotion more everything. But when I think back I realize it was just right.

These books left me feeling how I felt when I finished The Fault In Our Stars” open, exposed, and raw. You know when you hear a song and instantly connect with it, it opens your eyes and seems to have changed your life? That’s what reading this was like like I’m just waking up seeing the person I was and the person I want to be. It seems as if I have endless possibilities ahead of me now. It becomes that defining moment when you make a decision and every time you hear that song you’re reminded of that day you first heard it and decided to change and it just solidifies that the choice you made was the right one? Books are like that for me. Hopefully for you once you read this books.

There are books that I read for fun and books that I read that impact me so deeply it’s like I’ve changed, something inside me has shifted and I will never be the same, I’ll be better.

5+ STARS EACH

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: If I Stay and Where She Went

What are you thinking?

