Top Ten Bookish Resolutions

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week I will share a list based on the topic provided by The Broke and the Bookish.

Enjoy and please feel free to join me, I’d love to hear your own lists on whatever topics are featured.

toptentuesday

Top Ten Bookish Resolutions

1. Read a 105 books this year. I don’t know why but for some reason I entered a reading challenge where I chose to read 105 books this year. This is going to be a busy year; personally and book-wise.

2. Expand my vocabulary by at least 15 words: With every book I read, I hope to come across at least 2 words that I do not understand, hopefully more than once so the definitions will stick.

3. Read at least 20 physical books. I’ve been an e-book junky for the last year and a half. I want to get back into the habit of holding a book in my hands, feeling the paper under my fingers as I turn the page.

4. Read a title and Smile: I will input the titles of the books I’ve read this year in a jar. By the start of next year I will go through my jar, read the titles of the books I’ve read and see how many make me smile.

5. Read at least 2 books out of my genre comfort zone. I’ve read everything but thrillers, actions, horror and mystery novels. If you have any great recommendations PLEASE let me know.

6. Join a non-internet affiliated book club. I am currently a part of two internet book clubs. Maybe its time I went out and joined the real world in this aspect. 

7. Finish a book even if I don’t want to Many times I’ve come across a book that I just had to put down. I will strive to not stop mid book.

8. Read a book from an author I am unfamiliar with What are some of your favorite authors?

9. Read at least one classic

10. Resolution for you! Read at least 3 books this year before the movie! 

Google Images

Google Images

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Bookish Resolutions

  1. #8- My favorite authors are Christopher Moore (wrote stuff like Lamb & A Dirty Job), Poppy Z Brite (Drawing Blood & The Value of X), & L. Frank Baum (The Wizard of Oz & The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus). Baum might help you with your classic goal!

    Here’s my Top 10 if you want to take a look.

    Like

  2. I had to resolve to stop finishing books–never so concrete as a resolution, but I used to force my way through every single book I ever started. I finally realized I was wasting my time. I still feel guilty, though.

    Why 105 books? Is there a significance to that number?

    Like

    1. The guilt is why I made that resolution, but I too thought that it was a waste of my time, which is also why I made the resolution. Maybe it’ll surprise me and won’t be.

      As for the 105 books, there is no real significance. I tried to think of how many books I “think” I get through a year (a lot) and 100 is a milestone number; and I just like the number 5.

      Thanks for stopping by! Hope you stick around!

      Like

What are you thinking?

